◂ Back

Compassion Action and Engagement Scales (EAAC/CAAS)

Title of the Portuguese Version

Escalas de Atributos e Ações Compassivas

Original Version

Gilbert, P., Catarino, F., Duarte, C., Matos, M., Kolts, R., Stubbs, J., Ceresatto, L., Duarte, J., Pinto-Gouveia, J., & Basran, J. (2017)

Portuguese Version

Matos, M., Duarte, C., Duarte, J., Pinto-Gouveia, J., & Catarino, F. (2015)

General Description

Compassion is typically regarded as having two core components 1. As a sensitivity to the suffering of self and others; 2. A commitment to try to alleviate and prevent suffering (Gilbert & Choden, 2013). The EAAC/CAAS measures different elements of these two psychologies. In regard to the engagement scale, it measures the degree to which individuals are (for example) motivated to engage with suffering, distress tolerance, and empathy. In regard to trying to alleviate and prevent suffering, the scale measures (for example) people’s ability to solve problems and behave in ways that are helpful. The three scales measure compassion to self, compassion to others, and experiencing/being aware of the compassion from others, respectively. Each scale can be analysed in terms of the engagement and action aspects separately or as a single factor. The CAAS showed good internal consistencies and temporal reliability.

  • Gilbert, P., Catarino, F., Duarte, C., Matos, M., Kolts, R., Stubbs, J., … & Basran, J. (2017). The development of compassionate engagement and action scales for self and others. Journal of Compassionate Health Care4, 4. doi:10.1186/s40639-017-0033-3 http://hdl.handle.net/10316/46592


Marcela Matos – marcela.s.matos@gmail.com